We don’t have to be pretty.

Pretty isn’t a compliment. Trust me . For all the times someone called me pretty I was furious. It pierced my heart to see that people appreciated something I didn’t work hard for. Of all my merits and achievements they found my face attractive ? Uh…my face for which my parents worked not me. My body that is inherited not worked for.For all the times someone called me attractive I felt like smacking their faces. Like you don’t like my manners ,my humour my personality or just the fact that I am different. You simply like my body ? The one thing I didn’t work hard for.That’s what hurts the most. We spend ages trying to excel at our passion, straighten out our manners , be nice and humble and when finally we reach to a level. All people see is how good looking I am ? Like they care about the time I spent in front of the mirror not the time I took to become myself. For all we know the other person could be a serial killer and we won’t mind if he’s handsome. For all we know she might be a brilliant poetess but we have issues because she doesn’t fit the societal standards of beauty. Just appreciate my wit,my humour ,my intellect. The things I worked really hard for. The things that spell my existence not how pouty my lips are or how hairy I am ? For everyone out there ,being called smart is a great compliment but being called pretty is a shame.
When you tag me pretty you just negate all my talents ,all my efforts.
When you call me pretty you call me a waste of space. Trust me the fairer sex is so much more than a pretty face , an eye candy , a thing to look at. So every time you call us pretty stop and think , it’s not a compliment it’s a comment.

10 thoughts on “We don’t have to be pretty.

  1. Love this! However I was usually told the opposite by guys I liked. I was told I had a great personality, but because I wasn’t pretty, they didn’t want to go out with me. It did hurt, but it said a lot about their character.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Baaang On !
    Did we choose our hair color? Our skin color? The height? The lines on our palms? The shape of our nails? No ,we don’t. They happened because of DNA . They were the work of chromosomes . We didn’t have a least bit of say in all this.
    But what we have our say is in our kindness,the humbleness,sensitiveness .
    Too bad our chromosomes don’t help in making us the math geek or a wonderful writer. 😠 Those are the things we work for, Struggle for . Intelligence is truly Beautiful. Wit is the essence of joy and humor, without good sense of humor life as bland as unsalted chips!
    Too bad people don’t think it’s Important.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment